Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Join Us
Community Search
Who We Are
Share |
Board of Directors 2017-2018

Board of Directors 

For a full listing with contact information, download the Directory > 


President: Dave Bader (2017-2018), Aquarium of the Pacific, Long Beach, CA

Past President: Tami Lunsford (2017-2018)Newark Charter Jr/Sr High School, Newark, DE

President-Elect: Meghan Marrero (2017-2018), Mercy College, Dobbs Ferry, NY

Treasurer: Jackie Takacs (2015-2018), Maryland Sea Grant - Extension, Upper Marlboro, MD

Secretary: Sarah Richards (2016-2019), Saint Ann's School, Brooklyn, NY


Kate Achilles (2016-19), NOAA Fisheries Service, La Jolla, CA 

Linda Chilton (2016-2020) University of Southern California Sea Grant Program, Los Angeles, CA

David Christopher (2015-18), National Aquarium in Baltimore, Baltimore, MD

Laura Diederick (2017-2020), NOAA Fisheries, Silver Spring, MD

Kanesa Duncan-Seraphin (2016-2019) University of Hawaii Sea Grant, Honolulu, HI

GĂ©raldine Fauville (2016-2019), University of Gothenburg, Sweden

Catherine Halversen (2017-2020), Lawrence Hall of Science, Berkeley, CA

Sean Russell (2015-18), Stow-it-Don't-Throw-It Project, FL

Steve Stewart (2017-2018), Michigan Sea Grant, Clinton Township, MI

Chapter Representatives

Florida Marine Science Educators Association (FMSEA): Jenna LoDico, St. Petersburg, FL

Georgia Association of Marine Education (GAME): Kim Morris-Zarneke, Georgia Department of Natural Resources, GA

Great Lakes Educators of Aquatic and Marine Science (GLEAMS)

Gulf of Maine Marine Education Association (GOMMEA): Kate Leavitt, Seacoast Science Center, Rye, NH

Mid-Atlantic Marine Educators Association (MAMEA): Kathy Fuller, MD

Massachusetts Marine Educators (MME): Sandi Ryack-Bell, Museum Institute for Teaching Science, Quincy, MA

Northwest Aquatic and Marine Educators (NAME): William (Bill) Hanshumaker, Oregon State University/Hatfield Marine Science Center/Oregon Sea Grant, Newport, OR

New Jersey Marine Educators Association (NJMEA): Kaitlin Gannon, Rutgers, Jacques Cousteau National Estuarine Research Reserve, Tuckerton, NJ

New York State Marine Educators Association (NYSMEA): Dale Stanley, Garden City, NY

OCEANIA (Hawai'i and Pacific Islands): Joanna Philippoff, University of Hawaii at Manoa, Honolulu, HI

Southern Association of Marine Educators (SAME): Jessica Kastler, Marine Education Center, Gulf Coast Research Lab, MS

South Carolina Marine Educators Association (SCMEA): Jaime Thom, South Carolina Aquarium, Charleston, SC

Southeastern New England Marine Educators (SENEME): Valerie Cournoyer, Amity High School, Woodbridge, CT

Southwest Marine Educators Association (SWMEA): Alie Lebeau, Aquarium of the Pacific, Long Beach, CA

Tennessee Educators of Aquatic and Marine Science (TEAMS): David Wehunt, Soddy Daisy High School, Soddy Daisy, TN

Texas Marine Educators Association (TMEA)

Committee Chairs

Operations Pod

Bylaws: David Christopher

Chapters: Meghan Marrero, Chair; Mellie Lewis, Vice Chair

Executive: Dave Bader

Finance: Jackie Takacs

Grants and Development: Kristin Evans

History: Sarah Richards 

Communications Pod

Outreach: Debbi Stone

Current: Laura Good

Social Media: Joanna Chierici and Laura Bracken

Technology: Ariel Zych

Stakeholders Pod

Expanding Audiences: DJ Kast 

International: Geraldine Fauville

Membership: Lynn Whitley

NSTA Liaison: Mellie Lewis

Youth Engagement: Sean Russell, Chair; Kathy Fuller, Vice Chair

Issues and Trends Pod

Conservation: Sarah Wilson

Education/Research: Jenny East, Chair; Joanna Philippoff, Vice Chair

Ocean Literacy: Craig Strang and Diana Payne

Traditional Knowledge: Sylvia Spalding, Linda Chilton, George Matsumoto

Events Pod

Awards: David Wehunt, Chair; Jessica Kastler, Vice Chair

Conference: Jaime Thom

Scholarship: Kate Achilles 

National Office

National Office Manager: Jeannette Connors

National Office Coordinator: Adam Frederick

Contracted Staff

Social Media Community Manager & Editor: Jennifer Magnusson

Current Editor: Lisa Tooker

To see the profiles on members of the Board of Directors, use the Site Search function in the upper right of any page on the website.



Sign In


7/15/2018 » 7/20/2018
NMEA 2018 Annual Conference