Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Join Us
Community Search
What's New
Blog Home All Blogs
Search all posts for:   


View all (163) posts »

NMEA Past-President, Connecticut Sea Grant Education Coordinator receives Fulbright Specialists Award

Posted By Lisa D. Tossey, Friday, September 4, 2015

NMEA Past-president and Strategic Planning Chair Diana Payne has been selected for a Fulbright Specialists project in Denmark at the Technical University of Denmark’s National Institute of Aquatic Resources (DTU Aqua) during the fall of 2015, according to the United States Department of State and the J. William Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board.

Payne, who is Assistant Professor and Education Coordinator with Connecticut Sea Grant, will co-lead an international ocean literacy workshop with invited experts from Japan, US, Canada and the European Union, assess strategic benefits for integrating ocean literacy in institutional research strategies, train graduate students and senior researchers on research career and strategic research impact benefits of ocean literacy, and collaborate with SeaCHANGE partners at DTU to work with schools to empower educators, students and educational communities to address ocean literacy.

Payne is one of over 400 U.S. faculty and professionals who will travel abroad this year through the Fulbright Specialists Program. The Fulbright Specialists Program, created in 2000 to complement the traditional Fulbright Scholar Program, provides short-term academic opportunities (two to six weeks) to prominent U.S. faculty and professionals to support curricular and faculty development and institutional planning at post secondary, academic institutions around the world.

Payne NMEA 2015 award The Fulbright Program, America’s flagship international educational exchange activity, is sponsored by the U.S. Department of State, Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs. Over its 60 years of existence, thousands of U.S. faculty and professionals have taught, studied or conducted research abroad, and thousands of their counterparts from other countries have engaged in similar activities in the United States. Over 285,000 emerging leaders in their professional fields have received Fulbright awards, including individuals who later became heads of government, Nobel Prize winners, and leaders in education, business, journalism, the arts and other fields. Recipients of Fulbright Scholar awards are selected on the basis of academic or professional achievement. 

Payne was also recently named the 2015 James Centorino Award winner at our annual conference in Newport, RI, earlier this summer. 

Tags:  member  recognition 

Share |
Permalink | Comments (0)
Sign In


7/15/2018 » 7/20/2018
NMEA 2018 Annual Conference