Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join Us
Community Search
What's New
Blog Home All Blogs
Search all posts for:   

 

View all (153) posts »
 

Guest Blog by the Ocean Literacy Committee: Join our winter ocean literacy webinar series!

Posted By Lisa D. Tossey, Monday, November 21, 2016
Updated: Monday, November 28, 2016

The NMEA Ocean Literacy Committee is hosting a three-part webinar series. Each webinar will cover a different topic and topics will build on the one prior.

Current Special Report coverWebinar 1:
Tuesday, January 17

Exploring and Applying the Ocean Literacy Scope and Sequence for Grades K–12

11:30 a.m. HST/1:30 p.m. PST/4:30 p.m. EST

This interactive webinar will engage participants in opportunities to explore the Ocean Literacy Scope and Sequence for Grades K–12. We will discuss how to apply these grade-level appropriate conceptual progressions, designed to increase Ocean Literacy, to the development of learning experiences and instructional materials for use in K–12 classrooms, informal environments, and professional learning opportunities for educators.

Presented by:

  • Catherine Halversen, Lawrence Hall of Science at UC Berkeley
  • Craig Strang, Lawrence Hall of Science at UC Berkeley
  • Lynn Tran, Lawrence Hall of Science at UC Berkeley
  • Lynn Whitley, Wrigley Institute of Environmental Studies, University of Southern California

Duration: 90 minutes

NOTE: During this webinar, we suggest participants have ready access to the conceptual flow diagram we will investigate, a copy of which can be found here >

UPDATE (1/25): View a recording of this webinar here > 

Ocean Literacy alignmentWebinar 2:
Thursday, February 9

Alignment of the Ocean Literacy Framework with the Next Generation Science Standards (NGSS)

10:30 a.m. HST/12:30 p.m. PST/3:30 p.m. EST

This webinar will build your familiarity and understanding of the Ocean Literacy - NGSS alignment tool. We will first describe why alignment of the Ocean Literacy Framework with NGSS is needed, and explain the rating scale used to describe the different relationships between the Ocean Literacy Principles and the Disciplinary Core Ideas that comprise the Next Generation Science Standards. Participants will explore the alignment tool through the examination of particular grade bands, Ocean Literacy Principles and DCIs, along with the ratings explanations provided by a panel of experts. We will discuss your observations, questions and ideas for how to use the alignment document.

Presented by:

  • Sarah Pedamonte, Lawrence Hall of Science at UC Berkeley
  • Craig Strang, Lawrence Hall of Science at UC Berkeley
  • Lynn Whitley, Wrigley Institute of Environmental Studies, University of Southern California

NOTE: During this webinar, we suggest participants have ready access to the alignment documents, as well as a copy of the NGSS and the Ocean Literacy Scope and Sequence.

Prior to this webinar, we recommend you watch this video introduction to the NGSS in NSTA’s Learning Center if you are not familiar with the Next Generation Science Standards.

Duration: 60 minutes

UPDATE (2/19): View a recording of this webinar here > 

Instructions for Viewers: 
Please note that at several points during this webinar you will want to pause the recording to explore the alignment documents yourself. The recorded webinar has been edited to eliminate the time periods when we gave participants an opportunity to review these documents before moving on to the next part of the presentation.

 

Ocean Literacy guideWebinar 3:
Thursday, February 23

Organizing for Ocean Literacy - Implementation at Different Scales

8:00 a.m. HST/10:00 a.m. PST/1:00 p.m. EST

Join us for examples of how educators, scientists, and policy makers have deployed the Ocean Literacy Framework and the Ocean Literacy/NGSS Alignment document. We will focus on moving from ideas to impact by looking at examples of Ocean Literacy-inspired curricula, non-formal programs with a focus on Ocean Literacy, and how the alignment of NGSS with Ocean Literacy can be leveraged to support funding efforts, strategic planning activity, and teacher professional learning. Our format includes ample time for collegial conversation and questions, so please plan to join us!

Presented by:

  • Kurt Holland, Lead Science Communicator, Broader Impacts West
  • Diana Payne, Connecticut Sea Grant
  • Sarah Schoedinger, NOAA Office of Education

Duration: 60 minutes

Join using this link >

Instructions to Participants:
Please join the webinar a few minutes early to ensure you are able to see and hear the presenters. You will NOT need login credentials to join. The meeting host will accept your entry into the meeting room at the start of the webinar.

UPDATE (3/7): View a recording of this webinar here > 

- Sarah Schoedinger, Diana Payne, and Craig Strang, NMEA Ocean Literacy Committee

Tags:  guest blog  Ocean Literacy 

Share |
Permalink | Comments (0)
 
Sign In
Sign In securely